Battles – Mirrored

OK, I’m late to the party for Battles, aren’t I? Thanks, Yvette, for pointing them out to me.

Him Indoors: “What’s ‘math rock’, then?”

Me: “It’s that thing I call things when I can’t be bothered to say that it sounds a bit like Cardiacs, Sparks, and other bands that get a bit bored if they stick to a 4/4 time signature for more than twenty seconds.”

This track reminds me of Barrett-era Pink Floyd – the better, catchier stuff.

.

.

“Scratch that: it’s just progressive indie.”

(*reaches for credit card* … OK, then, Amazon. You and I are gonna do a little business.)

.

.

[EDIT]: Having now listened to the album: it’s Cardiacs-meets-Pram-meets-Barrett-era-Floyd. One listen of Mirrrored answers my own question of “what is ‘math rock’?”

It’s the term reviewers use when they just don’t know what the f*** is going on. Sometimes ignorance, like this album, is bliss.

One comment on “Battles – Mirrored

  1. Pingback: #musicmonday: One year of Reinspiration « Reinspired

Leave a Reply

