Top 100 Singles of All Time (100-76)

I’m something of a cultural iconoclast at the best of times, but at least 3/4 of Rolling Stone‘s list of the best songs of all time* did not deserve to be there at all (does anyone genuinely believe that I Wanna Hold Your Hand is a good song?), and they’d made some very notable omissions.

First of all I removed all the overhyped songs that are simply OK, and then reordered the tracks and filled in the blanks to form a top 100 of my favourite singles.

The criteria: pure, simple enjoyment. I don’t care if they’re unfashionable or cheesy, it’s a simple chart of what makes me smile. I can click on any of those links and think “f***ing hell, that song’s fantastic!

Also, the songs actually had to have been released as singles, so I can’t fill it up with favourite album tracks (but of course that also precludes older songs). I also tried to balance it so any one act was not over-represented (to avoid it consisting solely of Bowie and Queen). I was too distracted by the furore surrounding him to really be able to enjoy the music of Michael Jackson, hence omission. Sure, it’s unscientific, but any subjective list like this is an exercise in futility, since ranking order would change hour to hour let alone day to day. Ultimately its sole purpose is to give an excuse to listen to some great music.

Sure, a lot of great songs aren’t on here – but if I included them all, it wouldn’t fit on a top 1000 …

100. Black Steel, Tricky

99. If I Can’t Have You, Yvonne Ellimon

98. Theme From S-Express, S-Express

97. I Will Survive, Gloria Gaynor

96. Knock On Wood, Eddie Floyd

95. Love’s Sweet Exile, Manic Street Preachers

94. To The End, Blur

93. Give It Away, Red Hot Chili Peppers

92. Poison, Alice Cooper

91. America (What Time Is Love), KLF

90. NWO, Ministry

89. Nothing Really Matters, Madonna

88. Plasticity, Front Line Assembly

87. Teardrop, Massive Attack

86. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head, Kylie

85. Transmission, Joy Division

84. Hey Ya!, Outkast

83. You Keep Me Hanging On, The Supremes

82. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This), Eurythmics

81. True Colors, Cyndi Lauper

80. Ashes to Ashes, Faith No More

79. Subterranean Homesick Blues, Bob Dylan

78. Breathe, Prodigy

77. Livin’ On A Prayer, Bon Jovi

76. Johnny B Goode, Chuck Berry

NEXT >>

*Yes, I know that link’s old. And I care because …?

2 comments on “Top 100 Singles of All Time (100-76)

  1. Pingback: Top 100 Singles of All Time (75-51) « Reinspired

  2. Pingback: Top 100 singles of all time: 100 – Tricky – Black Steel « Reinspired

Leave a Reply

