5 Great Faith No More Moments

In a separate conversation on Facebook regarding influences, someone denounced Mike Patton’s output as “s***”, which stunned me because I have never in my whole life ever encountered anyone who doesn’t like Faith No More. Even my mother liked them. It would be almost like saying you didn’t like The Beatles, only I know quite a few people who regard them as overrated.

I must admit I’ve not really checked out Patton’s various projects such as Tomahawk or Mr Bungle, or his solo stuff on Ipecac (to be honest, the idea of someone grunting and shrieking into a microphone with no actual music or singing didn’t really appeal). Faith No More, however, provided a merry soundtrack to my youth and I still enjoy giving their fabulous greatest hits collection a spin.

Let’s remind ourselves of some of their more magic moments …

.

I saw the video for Epic on The ITV Chart Show in 1989 and it was the most awesome thing I’d ever witnessed. The guitar solo is just magic. I did rather wish Patton would stop gurning though.

.

From 1997’s Album of the Year, Stripsearch – a mellow trip-hop style chill-out track – is perfect for late nights. I always really liked the bass on this song.

.

Midlife Crisis: this gem from Angel Dust conjurs many a memory of being at school.

.

Faith No More’s most commercial song – a cover of the Commodores’ classic, Easy. I thought Mike Patton looked particularly beautiful in this video.

.

It’s very of its era, but Everything’s Ruined set the blueprints for the Disturbeds and Linkin Parks that followed.

One comment on “5 Great Faith No More Moments

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 5 Great Faith No More Moments « Reinspired -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

