Dragon Age II’s free upgrade

Bioware have just announced that anyone who pre-orders Dragon Age II gets a free upgrade to their Signature Edition, which is basically $20-worth of extra content. You get the game and a DLC code (additional quests and a new companion), plus the digital soundtrack, and a slew of downloadable goodies such as weapons. In order to get the upgrade, you need to pre-order before 11 January 2011.

The blurb:

Dragon Age II is the sequel to the 2009’s “RPG of the Year”, featuring faster-paced action, striking new art direction and a gripping storytelling approach that allows gamers to experience the rise to power with the game’s key character, Hawke. A refugee who survives the destruction of his homeland, Hawke becomes the Champion of Kirkwall but the lore surrounding his rise to power is shrouded in myth and rumor. These mysteries are the driving force behind the all-new Dragon Age II story, which spans nearly 10 years in the Dragon Age universe. Players will experience how the legend unfolds by gathering the deadliest of allies, making tough moral choices, amassing fame and fortune and sealing their place in history.

.

.

I’m a little torn on this. I spent over 60 hours playing Dragon Age: Origins, and though I really enjoyed the game in spite of its lumbering mechanics, I haven’t really felt the urge to return (I haven’t played the expansion). Do I want to pay upfront, or should I just wait for the game to drop in price and miss out on the extras? Do I even want to buy the sequel at all? I’m a bit bummed out that you’re playing a set character (and no choice on gender), and I did nickname the game “Drag On Ages” because it was soooo sloooow. Decision, decisions! At least I have a few months in which to make up my mind.

This IGN review sums up the pros and cons of the game here – although since I’m not big on faffy micromanagement and repetitive dungeon crawls, it’s only an 8/10 for me:

.

.

It doesn’t mention the humour in the game, though – such as the “surprise me” option at the local brothel:

One comment on “Dragon Age II’s free upgrade

  1. Comment response on Facebook:

    “You do get a choice on gender, but no choice on race. Which is fine, because I’m boring and always play humans. If you saw the gameplay footage from PAX, that was a female Hawke.”

    I stand corrected! 🙂

Leave a Reply

