I’m going to play every game I own on Steam part 2

<< PART ONE

Doom 3

On the load-up screen, the game required two security keys, but I could only find the one key. Since it was therefore impossible to play, I had to skip it and make a mental note to contact Steam to find out where to get the other key.

Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil

.

Can you believe it? I had never played a Doom game in my life until tonight. Oddly enough, it’s just like the Doom movie, which is based on the Doom III game. It’s a very simple if rather slick run-and-gun game, though the sound effects are wonderfully creepy and it is genuinely tense. Mostly you’re just shooting floating heads out of the sky. I didn’t stick around with it long, but I can definitely see why the games are so popular.

Doom II: Hell on Earth

.

This game is REALLY old – it would work well as a mobile phone game. I didn’t have a clue how to use the controls, but shot a few foes here and there. At least I can now say that I’ve played it.

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind

.

Ah, now we’re talking. I installed this Steam version, even though I have the disc version, because I wanted the full unsullied experience, i.e. without mods. The game is still utterly charming, even eight years on. It looks almost unplayably old, and the silent dialogue and clunky combat seem laughable, but the rich mundanity of the elven country feels genuinely magical. I found a note in Arille’s Tradehouse that I’d never seen before, even after playing it solidly for four years and intermittently for four more. I feel weird playing it – it’s so welcoming and familiar. It’s like going home to stay at the house where you grew up, long after moving away. It still feels like home, but you don’t think you’ll be staying very long.

TES IV: Oblivion

I’ll come back to this, since my disc is in the cupboard and I want to play the modded version. I’ve put hundreds of hours into the game anyway, so it’s not important.

Fallout 3

.

Ah, this is more like it! I’m never quite sure whether I love this or Morrowind more, but it felt really good to hear Three Dog’s voice again. I found out today that if you have a schematic and you find another of the same type, it forms an upgrade to the schematic. The game is just endlessly inventive! I played with my level 26 savegame and picked up the character where I’d left her, making her way towards the slave camp at the start of the Pitt expansion. We explored Fort Constantine then had a look around my nearby house mod, before getting into a fight with some Deathclaws just before we arrived at the camp.

Fallout: New Vegas

.

Didn’t spend too long with FONV tonight, since I’m blogging about that separately. New Vegas is definitely prettier than Fallout 3 and less inherently depressing. I just wandered around Novac and picked up the ghouls quest, and some stuff about Boone’s missing wife. Maybe this time around I’ll find the ghoul’s lost girlfriend in the basement of the facility. First time around, the ghoul attacked me and I figured it was a bug or I’d done something to spook him, but it turns out I’d simply ignored his instruction not to come any closer, and that was the consequence of coming closer. I bought another dinosaur toy. I have no idea what I’ll do with it. Just stick it with the others, I guess.

PART THREE >>

Leave a Reply

