#musicmonday: Talvin Singh – Jaan

I’m still not sure who gave me Anokha: Soundz of the Asian Underground, but I do remember loving it immediately. Some time later – a year or two – I found myself at The Blue Note in Shoreditch where Talvin Singh used to DJ. Queued for hours, freezing cold and everything overpriced. I’m there with my much, much prettier friend who was chronically shy – within about half an hour I’m swapping tongues (but not phone numbers – to be frank, I don’t think the idea even occurred to us) with some bloke I met in the queue … all very innocent by today’s standards, but it felt scandalous at the time … and she’s pouting by the stairs, but I think someone chatted her up after a time. It was a fair night out, and we went back once or twice, but nothing came close to the blissed-out, tripped-out glory of this track from the album – a spellbinding blend of Indian classical and drum ‘n’ bass beats.

Apparently, Singh featured on Kiss Them For Me by Siouxsie and the Banshees, and worked with Madonna. I didn’t know that until just now, but it makes me want to dig some of those old tunes out. I recall the Anokha album being superb. I must see if I can get another copy.

Leave a Reply

