30 day song challenge: day 01 – your favorite song

I can’t say that I’ll be doing this every day because it would get pretty boring for a blog series, but it might be fun as an occasional feature. The first is both the easiest and hardest song to pick:

day 01 – your favorite song

So many songs! Which is my favourite? I suppose I’d have to pick the first song which immediately springs to mind when someone asks me that question. The song is Comfortably Numb from Pink Floyd’s The Wall. It’s been my favourite song since I was about 10 years old.

With a working title of The Doctor, Comfortably Numb was released as a single in 1979, backed with the equally devastating Hey You. Out of the gargantuan double album, Comfortably Numb is one of only three songs co-written by Roger Waters and David Gilmour – with the latter writing the music and the former providing the lyrics and additional tweaks.

Waters claim the inspiration for the lyrics comes from when he performed while medicated for stomach cramps – “trying to do a show when you can hardly lift your arm.”

The band bickered about how to record the song, with Gilmour pushing for a rockier sound for the verses. Waters won that battle, but Gilmour got his way for the legendary guitar solos. I’m pretty sure it’s the song that made me want to learn guitar, and Guitar World ranked it the 4th best solo of all time.

Leave a Reply

