#musicmonday: Gang Gang Dance

My friend Yvette threw me a link to the NME, featuring an album stream of Gang Gang Dance’s Eye Contact, out now on 4AD. She wondered if it was my “sort of thing”. I had no idea. I knew the name, but honestly couldn’t recall actually hearing them before.

I’m still listening, but my first impression is that they remind me of 90s German act Plexiq – an eclectic mix of sounds including breakbeats, bleeps and languid pad sounds. There are vaguely “world”-sounding vocals. I’m tending towards “yes, this is my sort of thing”, but while I’m making my mind up, here’s that link for you:

LISTEN HERE TO ALBUM STREAM AT NME

:edit: OK, I’ve made my mind up – this is f***ing magic.

.

.

It reminds me of the music played at a club I used to go to in a warehouse somewhere in London where you had to bring your own alcohol – no, not the goth-industrial one, this was another one – where I’d visit with some New Cross neighbours of mine from South Africa. It was the sort of place with fabric wall hangings and giant balloons. I can’t remember much of it. Most people seemed to have dreadlocks and clothes made out of hemp. This is definitely late night chill-out music. What was that band? Transglobal Underground. There’s a bit of them in there too, and perhaps a little Goldfrapp, but I’m sticking with the Plexiq comparison.

.

.

Adult Goth sounds nothing at all like the Sisters of Mercy. Like most of what else is here, it’s bleeps and beats and Bollywoodesque vocals. MindKilla is a full-on (princess) stomper of a track, but I’m going to disagree with the NME here and call Thru and Thru the highlight: it’s a ferocious onslaught of beats and early 90s synths that puts in mind what would happen if Siouxsie Sioux’s The Creatures went disco dancing.

What’s not to love about that?

.

.

*Adds to Wish List*

Leave a Reply

