10 cheesy 80s videos I’d rather be watching than Lady Gaga’s new song

Oh dear – Ms Germanotta’s not doing too well lately, is she? Still, let’s not dwell on the ill-advised and move to the more positive territory of 10 cheesy videos from the 1980s I’d rather be watching.

10. Irene Cara – What a Feeling (Flashdance)
[caution: violence against chairs]

.
9. Thomas Dolby – She Blinded Me With Science
[caution: tinny synths]

.

8. Bonnie Tyler – Holding Out For A Hero
[caution: emoting]

.

7. Alice Cooper – Poison
[caution: creepy in all the wrong ways]

.

6. Starship – Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now
[caution: you might not want to remember Kim Catrall like this]

.

5. Spandau Ballet – Only When You Leave
[caution: air punching]

.

4. Cat – Catwoman
[caution: no-hit wonder]

.

3. Duran Duran – Hungry Like The Wolf
[caution: exotic fromage]

.

2. T’Pau – China In Your Hand
[caution: earrings]

.

1. Europe – Final Countdown
[caution: I won’t have a bad word said against this!]

.

… and if you haven’t heard Gaga’s latest, here it is.
[caution: where to begin …]

.

3 comments on “10 cheesy 80s videos I’d rather be watching than Lady Gaga’s new song

  1. Okay, so you know I’m seriously out-of-touch with a lot of stuff, and grew up in the 80s, so it’s no surprise that I’d agree with the sentiment of this post. So, on to other comments–

    1. Never heard of ‘Cat’ much less her song, so it was cool to discover something here. Also, of course I only knew the one T’pau song (which I love love love love and of which I probably still own the 45″ ), so that was also cool to see.

    2. As much as I’m not very keen on that particular Alice cooper track, I have to say that the one I suppose I’d actually disagree with (maybe because this is only the first time I’ve seen the Gaga video) is the Starship choice, although it becomes slightly more watchable with the sound off. I never loved the previous incarnations of Starship (my mom liked them, so I grew up listening to them a bit), I have to say that as Starship they really became a serious travashammockery and even as a teenager who did listen to pop music I found them pathetic.

    3. Is it the makeup that makes Gaga look completely drugged out of her skull, or is she really sleepwalking through the whole thing? I mean, I love the sort of throwback to Siouxee Sioux and Terri Nunn face and hair (respectively), but wow, she looks *really* zoned.

    Thanks as always for the awesome blogging. Keep it up!!

    • Oh, they’re not all GOOD by any stretch! They’re just videos that are either plain enjoyable (Europe), “guilty pleasures” (Irene Cara), or so absurdly f***ing terrible that they’re compulsively watchable because of it (Starship). I hadn’t noticed about Gaga looking stoned. Maybe she’s stoned!

Leave a Reply

