#musicmonday: Elysian Fields – Red Riding Hood

I’d better be careful. This isn’t the first time I’ve said “I’m not normally a fan of this lot, but …”, and if I say it too often, I’ll find myself normally a fan of this lot. Point is, the first time I was advised to look into Elysian Fields, I was a little underwhelmed, but on one or two occasions since I’ve been quietly impressed – plus I unreservedly love their La Mar Enfortuna project. So it was that I half-heartedly clicked on a link to the new single, expecting it to be pretty average, and thought … you know? This is really pretty good.

This is the timeless sort of rock that smacks of dark nights and delapidated motels. It reminds me a little of Riders on the Storm by The Doors – languid, a little menacing. It’s whiskey going warm and things you’ll regret tomorrow. It’s that part of night when anywhere that isn’t completely seedy is closed and anyone who isn’t Trouble is tucked up in bed. It’s also a very fine, catchy song with lots of cool, subtle bits that emerge on repeated listens.

Cute video, too.

.

Leave a Reply

