30 day song challenge: day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love

This is tricky. Anyone following this blog is likely to suppose – correctly – that I like all kinds of music, and just because I like one song doesn’t mean I’d like another, even on the same album. You’d have to know me pretty well to predict my tastes, so I’m not sure what no-one would expect me to love.

If I chose Eartha Kitt’s I Want To Be Evil, in a sense that would be downright predictable. Yes, it doesn’t slide into the alt-rock spectrum of most of my posts, but it is the sort of music that people who love music generally like – playful, classic, and uncontroversially brilliant. I’d be more surprised if anyone I knew hated it.
.

.

If I chose some cheesy pop hit from the 60s, again, I’d just be doing what people expect from me

as much as if I had chosen a cheesy non-hit from the 60s.


.

As for anything on the rock/metal spectrum, I don’t think that would come as a surprise to anyone.

.

[Note: flashing images]
.

I was going to choose this one: Milkshake, by Kelis. I don’t cover much R&B and most of it doesn’t interest me, but compositionally, this ticks all the boxes. If you really knew me as well as all that, you’d know that I’m a sucker for complex percussion, heavy basslines and shifting, unpredictable melodies. Plus, her voice has a really unusual, husky quality that really complements the song.

but then I remembered I’d already blogged about it, so the kitty’s out of the bag on that one.

.

Wow, this is hard! Most of the skeletons in my music blog have been written about here, so I’m really not sure there are any surprises left. I suppose I’d finally have to choose Un Bel Di (One Fine Day) from Puccini’s Madame Butterfly, which I would have thought is an obvious choice, but seems to blindside people who don’t know me very well. I think Maria Callas’s classic version is astonishingly moving.

.

.

Leave a Reply

