30 day song challenge: day 15 – a song that describes you

When I was about 16, a youth worker from my mother’s church invited me out for a cup of tea. I think he thought from my appearance that I was Ally Sheedy in The Breakfast Club and that he was going to be giving me the makeover. I smiled indulgently as he poured the milk: I appreciated the concern.

After five minutes, he put his teacup down and looked me in the eye.

“You know, you are not at all how I expected you to be.”

I laughed. “Well, what did you expect?”

.

According to those silly internet quizzes, I’m a Myers-Briggs type ENFP:

With a dramatic flair, they share their experiences with others, hoping to reveal some universal truth or win others over in support of a cause. Attuned to possibilities, Champions scan their environment, probing the emotions, needs, and motivations of others. This sensitivity sometimes conflicts with their intense drive for personal authenticity.

That’s a great description of this blog, but doesn’t help in terms of likening me to a song. Hell, I don’t even get likened to other people: “Roger Rabbit meets Jessica Rabbit”; “The manic rabbity thing from Sam and Max” … closest I ever got to human was when 27 people (including complete strangers) told me I “totally have to see” Legally Blonde back in 2001. They did at least make a musical of that, but it was crap.

I’m a lot more chilled out these days, anyway.

Honestly? I can’t think of any song at all that describes me, though I seem to confound some people’s expectations. For that, I’d have to pick Einstürzende Neubauten, since I had a similar misconception about them: I thought that they’d be cold, aggressive, hostile, harsh and unapproachable. It helps that Stella Maris was the first song I ever heard by them, but what a way to be proved wrong.

.

.

Leave a Reply

