#musicmonday : Foetus – First And Last And Always

JG Thirlwell, 2009, by Hueng Hueng Chin

Everyone who knows me knows that Morrowind is my most beloved video game – it has a special, unique place in my heart from which it can never be dislodged (not even by Fallout 3). One of the things that delights me most is that I have played the hell out of that game for nearly 10 years, and I’m still finding things I have never seen before. It never runs out of depth or breadth or new ways to surprise me.

Foetus is my most beloved music act for exactly the same reason. I’ve only spent about 18 months really exploring Thirlwell’s gameworld, 30 years in the making, but there really doesn’t seem to be any end to it. Each time you think you’re about to hit that invisible barrier that says “turn back here”, it just goes on and on – but with ever stranger new landscapes to explore. If you even try to comprehend its sheer size, you’ll just start to feel daunted and dizzy and have to sit down breathless on the nearest treestump. 
So this was today’s find: a Sisters of Mercy cover from a tribute album that came out in 2003. Jennifer Charles from Elysian Fields provides guest vocals.

It doesn’t sound like the Sisters of Mercy. I had to look up the lyrics to check that it was even the same song. It sounds like one of those cheesy presets on one of those electronic keyboards that kids get for their ninth birthdays – something marked “samba” or suchlike (I’m not really up on my Latin genres).

So it’s sort of cheesy and understated at the same time, but really quite fun. It’s probably the only Foetus song ever that could be described as “whimsical”.

.

.

Here’s the original.

.

.

Leave a Reply

