Yes, Sir, I Can Boogie

I’ve had this song going around in my head all day and I don’t have the faintest idea why.

.

.

It’s an old disco classic from 1977 that reached the top of the charts in the UK, Germany, Ireland and Sweden. The duo who sang it, Baccara, were Spanish. They released only two singles – this and Sorry, I’m a Lady.

Yes, Sir I Can Boogie is the seventh top-selling single of all time, having shifted an astonishing 18 million copies – but it didn’t chart at all in the USA.

(I’m not sure what is more soul-destroying on that list: the Black Eyed Peas’ I Gotta Feeling or Ke$ha’s Tik Tok.)

.

Ooooh … I know why I remembered it: it was sung over the credits of a film I saw the other day.

.

Leave a Reply

