Last Impressions: Thurston Moore – Demolished Thoughts

You might recall that a few weeks ago, I reviewed Thurston Moore’s Demolished Thoughts with a view to revisiting it a month later to see if I still had the same opinion. I’m deliberately not looking back to my previous post so as not to “contaminate” this one with my first impressions. I have, of course, listened to the album a number of times since then, and mostly I’ve come to the conclusion that Demolished Thoughts is basically nine versions of Disarm by the Smashing Pumpkins. Well, it’s not that repetitive, but you get the idea.


.

Or, if you prefer, it’s the quieter tracks from Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Cons: no Zero, 1979 or Bullet With Butterfly Wings. Pros: no Billy Corgan.

.

.

The track I play most often is Illuminine – partly because Last.fm has seized upon it as its favourite song to shuffle to, and partly because I never get around to listening to the whole album in a single sitting any more, and I quickly grew tired of Benediction through over-play.

.

.

I do have to point out that I’m very impressed with Beck’s production. There’s just so much going on in each track that even the most deceptively simple ballad becomes a subtle treat for the senses. In that respect, it’s like Radiohead’s The Bends – a little theme park for the ears.

Mina Loy is an intriguing labyrinth of a song, twisting and turning in unexpected directions. It’s definitely enough to jolt you awake after several rather samey ballads. A real highlight.

.

.

Demolished Thoughts is a very accomplished, assured and well-written album but a little too lacking in contrast to have any genuine claim on greatness. One to be enjoyed in small doses when you’re in the mood for that type of thing – which in my case is surprisingly often.

.

Leave a Reply

