30 day song challenge: day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument

My form tutor in school taught me how to play this one – Is There Anybody Out There? by Pink Floyd. I had only been practising guitar for a few months – if that – so this was something of a challenge for me. I remember practising it over and over until I was crying from the frustration, my fingers blistered and swollen, and the sheer exhilaration I felt when I finally nailed it. It’s always the first thing I play if I pick up a guitar, which is something I’ve not done in many years.
.

.

A couple of years later, I was in one of those bands that never get around to playing any gigs, with a much older girl from LA who told me she knew Courtney Love. Her husband taught me how to play Little Wing, but since I didn’t know the song, it made a Chinese Whispers-style digression on the way to becoming the tune I used to noodle away at on my guitar, which despite using the same chords bears scant resemblance to this.

.

.

Leave a Reply

