#musicmonday : Friends – I’m His Girl

This makes me feel so incredibly old. It’s not that it’s aping the 80s – we were aping the 80s back in the 90s, after all. Nope, it’s that it goes to such lengths to pretend to be from that unseemly decade, in all its mixtape-and-batwing-sleeves glory.

The song is catchy enough, with a simple funk-bass hook and maddeningly infectious chorus. Friends – another lot from Brooklyn, apparently – seem to be singing about independence in relationships – but I bet you were paying more attention to the shoes and thinking, “I had a pair of those!”

It’s the video that brought a smile to my face. I wonder what the hipster bands of 2040 will be ripping off from this decade.

.

.

Leave a Reply

