Top 100 singles of all time: 82 – Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)

Stop me if you’ve heard this – I’m fond of telling it. The scene: a nightclub toilet at a gig back in 1999 or so. Two 13 year-old girls are doing their makeup while this song blares out over the tannoy.

“Did you hear that?” says one. “Some bitch is covering Marilyn Manson!”  

Ah, that was the very second I realised I was getting old. How could anyone not remember this?

.

.

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) (or simply Sweet Dreams)  – written by Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart – was a hit for Eurythmics in 1983. It reached number one in the US and number two in the UK.

Marilyn Manson’s cover was the first single from Smells Like Children.

.

.

According to Manson, Nothing Records (run by Trent Reznor) didn’t want to release it as a single, preferring instead Manson’s excellent cover of I Put A Spell On You.

.

.

Manson’s insistence paid off, and Sweet Dreams launched the band into the mainstream.

.

One comment on “Top 100 singles of all time: 82 – Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)

  1. I loved the Euythmics. Still do think they are fine musicians and entertainers. For what ever reason I remember that just a couple of years later I was also loving Simply Red. I hadn’t thought of either for a while. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

