10 things that rocked my childhood

Answering a forum thread: “things that made your childhood awesome”.

1. Pong

We didn’t have proper Pong, this was one of the many clones, but we got many, many years out of it. 

.

2. Jem

Truly outrageous!

.

3. She-Ra: Princess of Power

She-Ra was always way cooler than He-Man, any day.

.

4. The Young Ones

Very, very silly but great fun when you’re a kid.

.

5. Spandau Ballet

I love how everybody has politely forgotten Spandau Ballet – they’re like “yuppie” in music form.

.

6. Grease 2

Sure, it’s an absolute abomination, but it was the best thing ever when I was a kid. I bet Michelle Pfeiffer is deeply embarrassed by it now.

.

7. Wide Awake Club/Wacaday

It’s Saturday / no school today / so what you gonna do / there’s no excuse to stay in bed / we’re waiting here for you … I met Timmy Mallet once when I was about 11. He was unpleasant.

.

8. Manimal

Hardly anyone remembers this cult series from 1983, but I was wowed by it’s state-of-the-art special effects.

.

9. Dynasty

Dallas is coming back to our screens, but Dynasty was even sillier. The shoulder pads! The awful acting! The diabolical storylines! It was worth watching for every scenery-chewing moment from Joan Collins, and every dignified sigh from poor, put-upon Krystle Carrington.

.

10. Robin of Sherwood

Ah, I had such a Kindergarten Crush on Michael Praed, who also played Prince Michael in Dynasty. The show was praised for its “gritty” setting and “historical” basis, though I mostly think it was popular because of Michael’s too-clean 80s hair.

.

I’ll also throw in a bonus hair metal track – I never bought those things, but they were so ubiquitous that I couldn’t imagine the 80s without that soundtrack.

.

Post script: man, how could I forget lolo balls?

Leave a Reply

