Berklee String Metal Ensemble

Nicking this from @iheartnoise.

The Berklee String Metal Ensemble is a student group composed of three cellists, two violinists, two drummers, a bassist, and a vocalist. They play melodic death metal, with some hardcore influence. The group covers bands such as Dark Tranquility, Arch Enemy, and Heaven Shall Burn. Band members include Trev Wignall and Jason Lim on violin; Dean Capper, David Tangney, and Eden Raiz on cello; Aaron Liao on bass; Steven Hopkins on vocals; Rae Amitay on drums and vocals; and Carson Groenewold on drums.

I’m definitely no fan of death metal and think the vocals spoil it, but if you ever wanted to know what a chamber ensemble death metal cover of My Bloody Valentine’s Only Shallow would sound like, you’ve come to the right place. 


Here’s their version of the Smashing Pumpkins’ Today, which I think is a little painful, but it’s definitely different.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s