Top 100 singles of all time: 72 – Levitation – World Around

Levitation - I'm pretty sure this is a promo pic

I’m going to keep this very brief since I’ve written about Levitation a few times before. It was the first song I heard by the band, and the main single from their album Need For Not. I recall my friends at school being a little underwhelmed when they heard it, but that’s because it’s quite subtle. There’s a lot going on underneath a basically pretty indie pop tune – hints of metal, psychedelia and anything else they could find in the cupboard. The drums are fantastic, the bass insistent, the guitars beautiful. (I should probably give a shout-out to the keyboard player but to be honest I didn’t really notice him here.) Ah, it’s a great song..

.

Leave a Reply

