Listen to Purity Ring – Shrines

Purity Ring photo by Landon Speers from 4AD website

Bjorkish synthsters Purity Ring are an act I’ve been keeping an eye on for a while, so I was chomping at the bit when I saw that NPR had their album Shrines up for streaming. I felt a little numb on hearing it, though – perhaps I wasn’t in the right frame of mind. I’ll give it another go in a day or two, but the first impression didn’t wow me as much as I’d expected. I’ll still recommend that you hear it, though, because there’s definitely something about the band who are already getting favourable comparisons to flavour-of-the-year Grimes.

Leave a Reply

