Conor Maynard – and why I’m obviously a secret sexist

conor maynard

I’m obviously some sort of hypocrite, because I’m so embarrassed about liking this that I’d definitely file this under “guilty pleasure” and shouldn’t really admit to it at all. But why? If it was a girl singing it, I’d be quite proud of enjoying it. I mean, I’ve featured Nicola Roberts, Madonna and the Sugababes on here enough times – it’s not like I’ve never confessed to enjoying pop. I just only – exclusively – like pop sung by women, and feel so out of my depth when boys do it that I instinctively run in the other direction. Maybe it’s because there’s something inherently wussy about pop. It’s OK if you’re flamboyantly gay, but for the straight man, it’s insipid and not a little pathetic. Wait. I did make an exception for Enrique Iglesias, but that was one single, 10 years ago. 

Duets or mixed-gender groups get a free pass, but boys – or worse, boy bands – are universally awful. The mere mention of boy band makes my jaw clench in an uncomfortable manner – from Bros onwards, I’ve just really f***ing hated them. Maybe it’s because the songs were so bland, or that terrible harmonising they do to try to find work for those U-rated male strippers, or that everything’s so sickly and syrupy.

Either way, I don’t like boys singing pop, but I do like this song. Mostly, I like that bass. It’s been wriggling around in my brain since I first heard the track several months ago, and I’m finally feeling brave enough to admit it.

.

.

Leave a Reply

