Top 100 singles of all time: 62 – My Bloody Valentine – Soon

My-Bloody-Valentine

Yes, I was one of the people who tried to take Loveless back to the shop because I thought it was broken … 

.

.

Soon is actually pretty straightforward, going quite lightly on the pitch-bends (which made me think my cassette copy was faulty) and with the strongest pop hooks on an album already abundant with pop hooks. That’s the difference between bands that thought they sounded like MBV and MBV: they knew how to write a really good pop song. There was no secret magic to it – just great pop with a bit of distortion. You could play these songs on a tin whistle and they’d sound good.

.

Leave a Reply

