Lamenting the impossibility of narrowing down the best tracks of the year

BFL-The-Haunted-Man-artwork-500x500

If I’ve gone quiet, it’s because I’m trying to create a Spotify playlist of my top 50 tracks of the year. Trouble is, there have been so many songs in 2012 that I’ve enjoyed that narrowing it down is simply impossible. Just to take the acts I’m really struggling with, which is the best Bat For Lashes song out of this 

this

or this?

Each has her rich, velvety vocals over an intriguing backdrop that just improves with every listen. Even after hearing the songs several times, I’m moved almost to tears by them.

.

Even though I found Grimes‘s album to be disappointingly patchy, I absolutely loved several tracks without even really being able to say why. (They do, after all, sound like the Keyboard Cat music with Alvin and the Chipmunks on vocals). But how to decide between this

this

or this?

.

It’s almost easier to pick a track from Necessary‘s formidable Death Grips-style genre-masher Galgeberg/Gimle. Almost, because even though Insisting on Racial Name Calling is the OMFG standout track on the album

it has to stand up against the superlative Seiran Descends

and Well Ov Initiation

.

Then there was Alexander Tucker‘s second great folk-rock-drone-indie-psychedelia album in two years, Third Mouth, which included this

and this

and this

>>Window Sill>>

.

So you can see I have my work cut out for me over the next few days, repeating that times fifty, trying to whittle it down to present my comprehensive list. I don’t envy me one bit!

.

Leave a Reply

