Is it OK to think Skrillex is OK?

I’m hearing a lot about Skrillex lately, and he seems like a pretty divisive fellow. Love him or hate him: pick one. I’ll admit being late to class on this one – I haven’t heard either of his albums. So, without the benefit of prejudice, will I join Team Love or Team Hate on Skrillex?

.

.

It’s Diet Aphex Twin! Derivative, sure, but not dull enough to be offensive. If you held a gun to my head and made me decide, I’d probably come down on “like” for First of the Year. Team Love score: 1 / Team Hate score: 0

.

.

Oh, good heavens, that sucks! It’s like that Christmas ad for … somethingorother … that used dubstep and told the world once and for all that dubstep was officially over. Team Love score: 1 / Team Hate score: 1

.

.

Well, this should tilt things back the other way: I’ve always had a soft spot for Korn, even if they suck more often than they excel. Unfortunately, this is no Here To Stay. Team Love score: 1 / Team Hate score: 2

.

.

This actually isn’t bad. It’s rather old-fashioned, but catchy in its unabashedly trashy sort of way. Makes me want to dig out the Mortal Kombat soundtrack. Team Love score: 2 / Team Hate score: 2

Verdict on Skrillex:

It’s OK.

.

6 comments on “Is it OK to think Skrillex is OK?

  1. Skrillex is amazing. Get Up is boss. But I respect your right to having your own opinion. Just, why you gotta put it on the internet?

Leave a Reply

